My Taiwan Travel Diary

Taiwan Milk Tea

I’m back in Japan! I can finally catch up with my bloghappyIt’s been a month since I returned, but I wanted to share pictures from my trip to Taiwan while it’s still summer. It was a four day trip but we saw and ate enough to fill several gb of pictures and videos.

Taiwan Hello Kitty Plane

Our airplane surprised us by being decked out in Hello Kitty. I mean everything was Hello Kitty—the plane meal, the seat cushions, the safety pamphlets and even the barf bag. I’m not a big fan of Hello Kitty, but I fully appreciate how much effort the EVA Air put in to looking cute.

Taiwan Castella

Taiwan in general is full of cute things like this bear castella I ate on a day trip to Shifen.

Taiwan Lightbulb Milk Tea

And sometimes they’re borderline hipster too, when they put their milk tea in a lightbulb.

Aside from all that there were also lots of traditional food and desserts which I lovedlove girlI lost count of how many bowls of douhua I had—bean curd with taro balls and tapioca and shaved ice. (I liked the taro balls so much I brought a pack home, but then forgot to eat them before they expired)

Taiwan Peanut Ice Cream Roll

We went all out at the night markets and spent whole nights eating any street food we liked the look of. So. Much. Food! Before I went I’d always wanted to try the ice cream roll with coriander and peanut shavings—it was even stranger but nicer than expected. Honestly whoever thought of this was a genius for making so many curious people want to try it.

Taiwan Breakfast

Local breakfast every daygirlSometimes it was egg rolls, sometimes it was noodles, sometimes it was 50-cent buns from a street vendor. And I always had cold soy milk just to treat myself in the morning.

Taiwan Jiufen

A break from the food pictures! Taiwan is beautiful. My favourite parts were the traditional buildings and streets (which was most of it anyway). On one day we took a day trip to a small town outside the city, and it was literally called Jiufen Old Street. Kind of like going back in time, with red lanterns and old shops everywhere.

Taiwan Jiufen

It seems to be pretty well-known, but apparently this place was the inspiration for the Ghibli movie Spirited Away. I never thought I’d find a place outside Japan that reminded me of Ghibli (just how many times have I referenced it on this blog now?), but this might’ve been the most impressive of all. Just look at that mountain!

Taiwan Jiufen

At night everything lit up and I got my postcard shot.

Taiwan Jiufen

It really was like getting cut and pasted into Spirited Away, completed with dark tunnels.

Taiwan

After appreciating nature for a day we went back to the city and did our shoppinghurhurAnd met this puppy in one of the shops. There were dogs everywhere in Taiwan.

Taiwan Liquid Nitrogen

And we carried on eating our way through the night marketseatThis was the craziest—some sort of liquid nitrogen ice chips that absolutely made you smoke like a dragon when you popped it into your mouth. (It didn’t actually have any taste, we just ate it for the photos)

Taiwan Mango Juice

When I remember Taiwan I think of street food and old towns and mango juice—we might have averaged two cups a day just because they were so cheap and big and exactly what we needed during the hot summer. It wasn’t just the heat, but Taiwan reminded me of Singapore in some ways and I did kind of feel at home while I was therenekoWe were only there for four days, but Taiwan didn’t need long to charm the socks right off me.

5 Responses to “My Taiwan Travel Diary”


  1. 1 cikitaokt September 16, 2016 at 1:30 PM

    Omg the meals are so cute 😊

  2. 3 fluffybunnydesu September 19, 2016 at 5:26 AM

    Wow! Jetsetter lifestyle, very classy indeed.

    This is a wonderful update that I was really anticipating; glad to know you had a safe fun trip.

    With a flight being ‘everything’ Hello Kitty I’d be pretty sure it was her piloting as well you know; should’ve got a selfie together!!

    I’m really happy that you had the opportunity this summer to explore new places and experience different foods; as well make happy memories with Friends.

    Besides meeting a cute puppy I noticed you even ate with a cute little beer drinking kuma; fascinating stuff!

    The scenery is very picturesque and all the foods look so delicious and irresistible; admittedly though my conscience would’ve had me walk that mountain each day to burn off those excess calories.

    Liquid nitrogen chips with helium would’ve been a fun twist too; then you’d look and also sound funny when eating.

    Jiufen’s bustling hillside grand tea-house looks spectacular; nice postcard memento photos although I see no ‘non-edible’ souvenirs Cheryl!

    Your Blog is always my ‘go to’ place of all things cute; so as ever, thanks and good luck this coming School term!!

    Take care.

  3. 5 lulumorina September 30, 2016 at 8:04 AM

    Love how you described your trip, it made me feel as if I was there if only for a second….and it was amazing 😍😍😍


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

