My First Birthday (in Japan)

Hello! I’m sorry I took another break in posting…there’ve been about a hundred reports due these few weeks and the only time I stopped doing (procrastinating, more accurately) them was to turn 21.

Birthday in Japan

It was my birthday on on ThursdaykirakiraI’m most definitely past being a teenager now, which is still kind of sad but also weirdly satisfying. The number only gets higher from here on so I’m just going to embrace the whole adulthood thing, whatever that meanswaving

Birthday in Japan

It’s the first time I’m having a birthday in a foreign country (and right in the middle of midterms, no less), but having friends around me more than made up for it. They went out of their way to make it a happy day for me, and it was the best way I could’ve spent my birthday away from homeheartIt’s a good thing that I’m in Japan after all!

Birthday in Japan

I mean, where else would I get a cake that looks like ramen? (If you think that looks real wait till you see their pork cutlet bowl cake)

Birthday in Japan

Or a surprise at the end of dinner in a small cafe perched on a building overlooking Shibuya? They turned off the lights and played the song Happy (“it’s so nice to be happy SHALALALA”) while my birthday cake came out in this entire procession. I loved it all and I love my friendsheart

So I really am 21 now…but I don’t feel it yet so I’ll talk about being 21 some other time haha. But I’d just like to mention what an aesthetically pleasing number my birthday was. I’ll never get another 6.16.16 againneko

9 Responses to “My First Birthday (in Japan)”


  1. 1 Jasmine June 18, 2016 at 10:45 PM

    Happy birthday! The ramen cake looks amazing! Can I ask what restaurant it was from?

    Love your blog by the way it makes me nostalgic for Japan🙂

  2. 4 RCubed June 19, 2016 at 4:51 AM

    Happy Birthday! I’m always amazed at how they make cakes that look like other types of food. Definitely fooled me.

  3. 6 Emily @The Geek Undergraduate June 19, 2016 at 5:13 AM

    Happy Birthday, what an awesome cake and Date for your birthday to be on! Hope you enjoyed it😀

  4. 8 Nano @ #TravelWithNanoB June 19, 2016 at 4:27 PM

    Happy birthday!!! Wish you all the very best, and your ramen cake looks amazing!!! xoxo, nano


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

