Convenience Store in Japan: This Week’s Snacks

Happy Sunday! Now that Christmas and New Year have passed, ’tis the season of finals. But then in just a few weeks it’ll be time for spring break (aka the real deal), so that’s a comforting thought. Anyway, I’m sharing this week’s favourites from the convenience stores! I thought about it because I’ve been buying so many snacks in Japan, even though I never did back home.

(I need to reflect on myself)

Japan Conbini

Pocky midi chocolatekira

Everyone knows PockyhappyPocky isn’t even as much of Japan’s thing anymore, because it’s everywhere else in the world. But this is still the motherland, so that means lots of new quirky flavours are born here as well as commercials of pop stars dancing with Pocky sticks in their hands.

The Pocky midi’s a special version; basically it’s fatter and has more coating than the usual skinny sticks you get. It’s written as ぽってり (chubby) right on the box, which is cutesmileChubby pocky haha.

Japan Conbini

Strawberry shortcake-flavoured potato chipskira

I know this looks weird. But! If you embrace it (like I did) it’s totally yummy and will make you think it’s just common sense to have potato chips in a dessert flavour. I thought it was genius, honestlyhmmIt really did taste like strawberry shortcake, but in an interesting deep-fried form.

You learn something new about the world everydaygood

Japan Conbini

Yuki ichigokira

It’s like a soft and plump daifuku stuffed with strawberry shortcake, and the name in kanji literally translates to snow strawberry daughter. Doesn’t that just charm you? Like “buy me! Love me! Eat me!” So I ate it and it was delicious.

Japan Conbini

And after cutting my snow strawberry daughter in half, this is what it looked like inside—strawberry, cream, and sponge cake all blanketed in mochihappy

divider

That wraps it up! I feel like I can keep making these posts just because Japanese convenience stores are infinitely stocked with fun snacks. So look forward to the next onegirl love

4 Responses to “Convenience Store in Japan: This Week’s Snacks”


  1. 1 vanessamistisa January 17, 2016 at 11:47 AM

    I LOVE the konbini in Japan. It really is so convenient, and really good food for a really good price! My favorite was pan. You can get a large roll for only 100 yen. They have some weird snacks, but it is always worth a try!

  2. 3 All the ame January 19, 2016 at 4:11 AM

    😮 strawberry shortcake crisps, I would love to try those! I saw those ones online but they were out of stock, boo. Have you seen the mikan flavour from the same brand? They look really interesting too!

    Those little snow strawberry daughters are so adorable ^__^

    I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what you find next!😀


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

