New year in Japan: Osechi-ryori and Matsuri Food

It’s 2016!

Osechi

How is everyone’s new year? This year I welcomed it for the first time in Japan. Since I didn’t go back to Singapore, I spent it with my family here! We had osechi ryori, the traditional Japanese new year food. It’s like bento, but a luxurious and extra pretty sort with a huge variety of ingredients.

Osechi

It came nicely packaged like this! Unless it’s homemade, osechi is usually expensive…they can start from a hundred dollars for a set and go up to literally several thousand dollars. We got ours on Amazon where the price was relatively reasonable; it was about ¥9000 for three tiers!

Osechi

There’re lots of ingredients inside, like rolled omelette (datemaki) and fish cake and chestnuts. 34 in total actually, stuffed into the three trays that made up the bento.

Osechi

The detail they put into it is amazing. Since it’s supposed to be the year of the monkey, they actually put it into the osechimonkeyI can’t even think about carving one little monkey out of a sweet potato, much less hundreds for mass production.

So we spent most of the time sitting at home and being cosylove girlBut outside there’re lots more activities going on for the new year! In Harajuku there was a little festival too, with the street lined with food stalls at night.

Japan Matsuri

There was the typical matsuri food, like takoyaki and yakisoba and candied appleskira kiraEven if they’re generally not the kind of stuff I usually want to eat, I get attracted way too easily to food that’s sold under a bright sign on a crowded street.

Japan Matsuri

Because they’re actually really eye-catching. Look at the colours of those fruits!

Japan Matsuri

And also these super decorative bananas on sticks. I’ve never seen a more girly fruit…In Japan bananas are dressed up even better than me. Choco bananas (チョコバナナ) are a typical matsuri treatbanana

Japan Matsuri

You know it’s 2016 when you see bananas covered by little Disney heads flashing with LED lights and singing It’s A Small World on the street. I’m not sure I understood either, but I guess this is the future…hurhur

Japan Matsuri

Back to something more old-fashioned—okonomiyaki on a huge sizzling grill! They had both Osaka and Hiroshima-style okonomiyaki, and these were popular with everyone looking for something hot and savoury on a cold winter night. Also even if you don’t want to eat it, it’s fun to just look at the stall owner chopping away at the piles of okonomiyakigood

Japan Matsuri

Mochi, the quintessential Japanese snacksmile

divider

So yes. It’s a new year! This time I didn’t (or haven’t yet) put up a post reflecting on everything that went on in the last year…but you all know I moved to Japan anywayhappySo that was a new life event, after graduating from school. I’m starting the year still as a university freshman, so that’s excitingkiraIt’s been about 4 months since coming to live here, and I’m beginning to get a little antsy about going home to see everyone I miss haha. But I’m enjoying myself everyday heresmile

I’m going to continue posting about life in Japan and the things I get up to here. I’ve been updating every weekend about cafes and places, but once in a while I think I want to try more personal posts in between too.

Thanks for reading my blog! Have a good start to the yearkirakira

6 Responses to “New year in Japan: Osechi-ryori and Matsuri Food”


  1. 1 runawayjapan January 3, 2016 at 1:57 PM

    Beautiful pics! I’m sad I didn’t get a monkey in my osechi 😦

    • 2 Miu January 4, 2016 at 9:32 AM

      Thank you♡ Ah that’s a pity 😦 But I’m sure yours was still great, judging by the variety of osechi there seems to be!

  2. 3 All the ame January 3, 2016 at 10:37 PM

    Gorgeous photos as always, the osechi ryori looks delicious! Those candied fruits look pretty amazing too, I’d be trying all the blue ones haha. Great post 🙂

  3. 5 Sydney Lee January 4, 2016 at 10:56 PM

    swear everything (photo) you take looks so lovely and appetising!!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

