Taiyaki: Fish-shaped pancakes

When people ask me what my favourite Japanese food is, taiyaki is my stock answer and has been for as long as I remember.

Taiyaki

It’s a fish-shaped pancake that has filling inside (typically red bean, as you might guess) and there’re lots of taiyaki shops all over Japan! Back in Singapore there were only ever a handful, so maybe that’s why I put them on such a high pedestal haha.

But they’re really that deliciouscryThey’re crispy outside and soft inside and the best ones are stuffed with filling from head to tail and served hot off the grill. I feel like I’ve been eating a lot of taiyaki since I came to Japan. Also because there’re so many different kinds!

Taiyaki

Like the croissant taiyaki, which is a bit of a recent trend. Kind of like the Japanese version of the cronut. It’s still soft but has a flaky texture outside, and decked out with sugar crystals. Basically it’s a fancy version of the old school taiyaki.

Which is nice tookira kiraTaiyaki is fun because even they mostly taste the same and all look like fish, every shop can still make it a little differently.

Taiyaki

Some of them just give it to you in a whole chunk like this without shaving off the batter around it. I guess you get more out of that way, plus the plain pancake part alone already tastes goodgoodAlso somehow I get a lot of satisfaction from biting off everything to get to the fish.

Taiyaki

It’s not all just golden brown taiyaki, sometimes there’re white ones toonekoThey have a different, more chewy texture, so you can eat them chilled like a dessert. It’s kind of like mochi in the shape of a fish this time. I’ve seen pink strawberry ones somewhere around too!

Taiyaki

It’s best when the taiyaki is freshly made and steaming warm, but sometimes convenience stores have them too if you need a quick fixnekoBut I’d still recommend the hot ones from a taiyaki shop so go treat yourself.

6 Responses to “Taiyaki: Fish-shaped pancakes”


  1. 1 Mchan November 9, 2015 at 7:45 PM

    I prefer the cream one but they are so cute. Never saw a white one before though.

  2. 2 All the ame November 10, 2015 at 3:06 AM

    I would LOVE to try taiyaki, it’s seriously one of my number one things to do (food wise) if I ever get to Japan. They look so yummy!🙂

  3. 3 All the ame November 10, 2015 at 10:46 PM

    Reblogged this on All the Ame and commented:
    Check out this awesome and informative post about taiyaki from Miu at sliceofapplecake.wordpress.com, I love the beautiful photographs! If you haven’t checked out this adorable blog yet, you should ^__^

  4. 5 Sydney Lee November 13, 2015 at 6:29 PM

    didnt know these are called taiyaki! chinese have them as well but no fillings

  5. 6 fluffybunnydesu November 15, 2015 at 7:45 PM

    Another delicious weekly serving〜yummy!

    I love your Blogs〜always so fun colourful cute and informative!

    Thank you always for your time and sharing〜Godspeed.


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

