Panda Snacks in Ueno

Hello! I’m going to write about Ueno today, but it’s not going to be a travel guide telling you where to go or what to do.

Panda in Ueno

It’ll be about where to find panda-themed food insteadpandaThe Ueno Zoo is a famous attraction, and the panda is a pretty iconic mascot for Ueno. So you can find it in lots of places—on signages and street decorations and logos and all over the restaurants and cafes.

This is the Panda bun from Wholesome Bakery in L’UENO, which is right opposite the Shinobazu exit of Ueno station! They have a lot of other cute animal-shaped bread too and I did buy a chocolate bear bun, but I think I’ll just keep it to pandas today.

Panda in Ueno

Inside the station itself (near the JR tracks), there’s a big shopping area called ecute that has lots of restaurants and souvenirs.

A bento shop called Tsukuasa sells this adorable Panda Bento for when you’re in need of lunch to go on a long railway journey. Remember how I always raved about ekiben? I wish I could get on a shinkansen from Ueno just so I could buy this train bento. It’s a panda. Complete with a torso and little seaweed armsheart

Panda in Ueno

Soft Panda cheese cake from Boul’mich! This was so delicious I almost want to include the picture showing the cream cheese and sponge cake oozing out after I cut it openhurhur

Panda in Ueno

This was my favourite! Quatre, a patisserie that sells amazing pastries and sweets, makes this Panda Purin that’s exclusive to their Ueno shop. Pudding just feels so much more complete when it’s capped off with a little panda head.

Panda in Ueno

Anya Hiyoko sells obanyaki, which is another one of my favourite Japanese snacks because it is essentially taiyaki but just not in the form of a fish. It’s just a simple, round pancake and not as sophisticated as a taiyaki might be with its scales and tail, but these have a panda on them. So they’re greatgirl loveThere are different fillings, but I got custard!

divider

I saw a number of other panda-themed snacks and food around Ueno (like udon and steamed buns), but I still haven’t gotten the chance to try them yet. If I can round up enough I want to make a part two! For now, these should be plenty if you want to get as much panda as you can out of your Ueno experiencekirakira

7 Responses to “Panda Snacks in Ueno”


  1. 1 Anthony October 25, 2015 at 11:21 PM

    Great idea for a post. Thanks for sharing with us. My only question is did you put the exclamation mark after custard because you were happy, or because you wish you had gotten a different flavour?

  2. 3 alicegeorge06 October 26, 2015 at 12:30 AM

    Beautifully decorated snacks. They look far too good to eat;)
    Pandas are amazing!

  3. 5 All the ame October 26, 2015 at 6:05 PM

    I love this post, hunting down panda themed food sounds like a great day out to me ^__^


  1. 1 Hanami under the Cherry Blossoms in Tokyo | Slice of Apple Cake Trackback on April 4, 2016 at 10:58 AM

Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

