The start of university in Japan

Exactly one month ago I moved to Tokyo! One month down, 47 more to go. Maybe 48 if you count in a leap year along the way. But yeah, I think I can safely say I still have a long way to go (and lots more desserts to eat).

Everyday life in Japan is lots of fun and I still haven’t gotten tired of taking the trains and going to the conbini and listening to the people around me talk in Japanese (dream country and all). Sometimes I do get homesick, but it’s been better since school started because they’ve been keeping us so busy.

Japanese School Lunch

Also, cafeteria lunch = comfort foodhappyMy meals here usually cost around ¥200-300 (maybe a little more if I really load up the tray), and since I have a few discount coupons from the student co-operative I’ve been paying almost nothing for the past few times I’ve eaten there haha. There’s a good variety of Japanese food, and the salad bar is a lot of fun (by the way I never had this kind of cafeteria in my schools so I’m just kind of fascinated by everything).

Apart from food and all that, I’ve been getting a kick out of every other new experience at schoolkira kiraThere’s a lot of freedom to explore and most of the classes are keeping me entertained. The only thing that’s being difficult with me is the timetablerabbitThe class scheduling process has been heinous and I had some trouble with the course registration…but it should be getting settled soon, so hopefully the dark days are over.

Anyway, I guess one of the more exciting parts of starting school has been meeting a lot of peoplenekoSince the orientation weeks I was able to make new friends who are all really great people. Thank you for talking to me and being coolcryIf there’s ever a time to grow out of being shy, it’s university. There’s a different group of people to meet in literally every class I go to, so during the first week I had to start over again and again. Speaking up in a big group is hard for me; it just feels easier to open up in a smaller space. I really hope I can get to know people bettergirl shy

Japanese Toast

And I really need to break up the text. Look at this toast! It only cost ¥50 plus jam!! If you ever need to find a cheap meal, just head to the nearest university.

Getting back to the topic.

I’m still getting used to university life, but being in school and meeting people and eating good food on a budget is working out pretty wellgirl loveThe campus is huge so it’ll probably take a while if I ever get tired of it.

Also, my friends back home have been talking to me the same as usual so I still feel as close to them as always. Thank you technology, for letting me communicate instantly with my best friends and sending them awkward faces on Snapchathappy

0 Responses to “The start of university in Japan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

