JAPAN! An announcement

I don’t always shout out my titles with capital letters but when I do…
it’s to announce I’m moving to Japan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bam. A surprise! Or at least I think it is, to the greater majority of people reading this. More and more of my friends around me are starting to know about this, but I’ve been quiet about it for a long time until nowgirl

I’m going there to study at a university for four years. It’ll be my first time living in another country and I’m kind of nervous about being so far away from home. At the same time though, it’s JapankirakiraSo…I think you know what I mean haha.

When I first applied I did it with low expectations. I’m not an ace student and Japan seemed very, very far away. It was surprising when I got past the first screening, a miracle when I got accepted latercryEven so, making the decision was a headache. Before that I’d been set on staying home and studying at a local university I’d gotten into, until the letter from Japan arrived and shook things up. And I couldn’t choose Japan just because it has cute food and Disneyland and was my prepubescent life goal.

It’d be so boring if I wrote my entire thought process during the weeks it took me to realise I wanted to study in JapanhurhurBut you’re seeing the outcome of it. This is my decision! And I’m really grateful.

So here I am at two weeks to go before I take a plane to TokyoplaneNot quite ready, but still excited.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I guess I’ll find a companion in food?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not that brave and neither am I super independent. I like to be near my family and friends and walk around the places I know. And I get really overwhelmed when I’m surrounded by too many unfamiliar people and things. But I also have a lot of adventures to look forward to and cafes to eat atgirl tongueWhat great timing too, because I was already running out of content for my Japan travel posts. Looks like I’m covered for a few more yearskira kira

Till now I’ve had the chance to go to Japan a couple of times. It’s different now and I’m not going on vacation anymore. How strange and foreign it feelsgirlI have to study hard there, but I’m really blessed to be able to do it in a country I’ve loved for so long it’s become a part of my character.

Throughout my life most people have always seen me as ‘that girl who likes Japan’ and all too often asked if I wanted to live there. My answer was essentially no because I’d get too homesick haha. But look what happened nownekoI wonder if I’m fulfilling some expectation here?

I tried to make this look like a travel billboard but my vocabulary is still limited. Maybe by the end of four years I’ll come up with a more inspirational slogan.

9 Responses to “JAPAN! An announcement”


  1. 1 Joce August 22, 2015 at 4:02 AM

    Congrats!! So exciting ^__^

  2. 3 fluffybunnydesu August 22, 2015 at 8:46 AM

    Amazing opportunity〜so excited for you〜just imagining the possibilities!

    When settled might be a fun idea to make enquires to a part time job〜perhaps a themed café to further help improve your language skills!

    So looking forward to future updates〜as well Odottemita videos!

    /(。^o^)ヽ〜Take care!!

    • 4 Miu August 23, 2015 at 11:30 PM

      I am thinking about part time jobs, but maybe later when I’m settled and find something I like🙂 Thank you!

      • 5 fluffybunnydesu August 25, 2015 at 1:30 AM

        Thank you for the kind reply〜

        May you also have many opportunities to embark those yearning cross-country train journeys you have previous mentioned〜embracing Japan’s beauty scenery〜complemented perfectly with a delicious ekiben.

        It would be an absolute delight to learn of these experiences and surely make for enjoyable VLOG additions to your Blog.

        Best regards as always!

  3. 6 Lena August 22, 2015 at 6:17 PM

    THIS IS SO COOL! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll have a lovely time😀 xx

  4. 8 Alana Jewel August 22, 2015 at 11:51 PM

    This is wonderful! I too recently moved to Japan, about a month ago, and am currently living in Okinawa. Have lots of fun in Tokyo, study hard and have fun!! I am SO excited for you. I remember how ecstatic I was, especially because prior to living here, I had never even left my home country before. It’s still surreal, some mornings I wake up and forget I’m not in California anymore. 頑張って!!

    • 9 Miu August 23, 2015 at 11:31 PM

      I’ve always wanted to visit Okinawa, it seems like a really unique part of Japan! Thank you very much😀 お互いに頑張ろう〜!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

