Kiki & Lala x My Melody Cafe in Shibuya

Once you’ve gone to Japan, you never go back to eating food that is not made to look like some animal or cute character.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes. Just like thisheartThis is Lala, one half of the Little Twin Stars, Sanrio’s third most popular characters, and she was turned into a curry and put on my table.

Last week I visited the Kiki & Lala ♡ My Melody 40th Anniversary Cafe, which is open for a limited time at The Guest Cafe and Diner at Shibuya! The pop-up cafe is entirely based on a collaboration between the Little Twin Stars and My Melody, so the menu and shop decoration is full of nothing but fluff and cuteness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is what the cafe looks like, with big pink posters and happy music bringing crowds of girls to the shop. You can’t see it here, but there’s a photo booth for you to take a commemorative picture with props toohappy girl

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 During the lunchtime period there was a long queue, but everyone seemed happy to just look at the menu with all its mind-bogglingly cute dishes and mull over what to order. (Pink My Melody curry or Little Twin Stars sushi?! It’s okay there’s still an hour to decide)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The place mat was so adorable I took it home with me instead of using itgirlIt was free and I was probably going to spill sauce on it anyway.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had a strawberry milk with My Melody on itlove girlThe cream on top tasted like pudding, and below it there were juicy strawberry bits in the milk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was my mom’s vegetable plate with 20 different ingredients in it! I liked how they can have a more health-conscious option that’s still just as dolled up as the rest of the cafe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The carrots were heart-shaped, and the cauliflowers were pink. (Dyed with natural colour, no less) So if you feel like eating something more sensible, the cafe still has something yummy for youkirakira

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The characters aren’t only on the walls or in your food, they’re right there at the cafe too! When there isn’t a crowd they’ll just sit right there at the table across you and mingle with all the guests.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I was there one of the guests was celebrating her birthday with her friends, so they got to take a special picture with the mascots and have the Happy Birthday song played just for her.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was lots of other activity going on too, since it was the first day of opening. A few TV and web shows were there to catch the cafe experience on camera, so I could see lots of tasting and interviewing going on from where I was seated. And of course, everyone has to take pictures of their foodhurhur

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As usual themed cafes make sure you enjoy the (expensive) experience from start to finish. I’m not a big fan of these characters so I didn’t buy anything from the merchandise shop, but I liked having a browsesmile

Anyway! I did get to take home a souvenir (besides the place mat I pinched). The curry rice I ordered came with a special pink Little Twin Stars x My Melody mug, which is way more than a good deal.

If you’re in Tokyo right now, trade places with me it’s definitely a good idea to try out this cafe!

9 Responses to “Kiki & Lala x My Melody Cafe in Shibuya”


  1. 1 Mchan June 13, 2015 at 12:37 AM

    I love that -very japanese- moment when your kawaii dish arrives and you have this big grin on your face ^^ and you start taking pics of your food! just lovely

  2. 3 RCubed June 15, 2015 at 2:02 PM

    Oh goodness, what don’t they have in Japan?! If they had a Badtz Maru cafe, I’d die.

  3. 5 Sydney Lee June 21, 2015 at 6:09 PM

    everything is so cute but im wondering if the colours are of natural ingredients or not? :O

    • 6 Miu June 22, 2015 at 8:54 AM

      The cafe says they use natural colouring! I’m not exactly sure, but I”m guessing beetroot for red and so on 😀

  4. 7 Irene Sachli October 27, 2015 at 12:43 PM

    Hello 🙂 I’m visiting Tokyo this early november. Will the cafe still open at that time?

  5. 8 aimeenugroho March 4, 2016 at 1:12 AM

    Hi. I will go to tokyo in late March 2016. Will this kiki and lala cafe still open during that time? Thanks

    • 9 Miu March 7, 2016 at 10:38 AM

      Hi! Unfortunately the Kiki & Lala cafe was for a limited time only, so it already closed 😦 But they usually have character themed cafes so there might be another one!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

