Lazy Lunch at the Shirokuma Cafe

I’m here to share with you another fun cafe in Tokyo!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This time I went to the Shirokuma Cafe (shirokuma is polar bear in Japanese)! It’s a quirky themed cafe in Takadanobaba based on the anime series about a polar bear who runs a cafe. So…I’m sure you can see where it’s coming from.

I especially tracked it down because of my love for this funny series about strange anthropomorphic animals combined with my love for themed cafes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When you eat here, you get to dine together with Panda and Penguin! Who, by the way, are also the main characters in the series and frequent customers at the cafe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s also a TV hanging from the ceiling that shows different episodes of the anime so you can watch while you wait for your food or eatsmile

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is exactly what I came for. Panda-kun’s Hayashi Rice (¥1,200), which is Panda-kun made of rice and surrounded by curry. I ate it allheartIt’s good comfort food for a lazy day in the cafe. Plus since it was the lunch set it came with soup!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Take a look at the Shirokuma Cafe goods on your way out after the mealhappy girlFirst Pom Pom Purin, and now this cafe-running polar bear. These character cafes really know how to capture my heart (and my money).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even the bathrooms are completely decoratedgirl love(though of course I didn’t take pictures of the toilet bits)

divider

It’s a small, mellow cafe with a lazy atmosphere—which is why you should check it out even if you’ve never seen the anime or the manga before. There’s something endearing about this motley crew of bears and penguins that makes me feel happy when I eat at their cafe.

And even though I went alone, it was great just whiling away the time with a warm plate of panda curry rice.

5 Responses to “Lazy Lunch at the Shirokuma Cafe”


  1. 1 thesweatergiraffe May 29, 2015 at 2:50 AM

    What a cute café! Everything looks so wonderful.

  2. 3 fluffybunnydesu May 29, 2015 at 2:59 AM

    I am a huge fan of your wonderful and informative Blog!

    The intrigue and anticipation of reading each exciting update is always guaranteed joyful pleasure!

    It’s thanks to your kind nature, passion for exploring Life and Journalist intuition that has allowed for so many delightful and educational insights!

    I therefore thank you kindly for your time and sharing〜Take care!


  1. 1 Back to the Shirokuma Cafe | Slice of Apple Cake Trackback on October 11, 2015 at 10:46 PM

Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

