Pom Pom Purin Cafe in Harajuku

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my favourite things to do during my trip was to go out in search of cute food all over Tokyo. So it made sense to visit the Pom Pom Purin Cafe, which is right in the middle of the trendy Takeshita-dori in Harajukukirakira

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pom Pom Purin (or just Purin) is a beret-wearing golden retriever and one of the Sanrio characters. He’s popular enough to get his own cafe with countless teenage girls queueing for an hour just to get in (I guess that includes me).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you want to eat at the cafe, you need to get a queue ticket in advance (which runs out fast) and come back at the indicated time. And even when you return to start queueing, you still have to wait for a long time—I was in line for about an hourhurhurWhich goes to show my remarkable patience and also how easily won over I am by cute gimmicks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once I was near the entrance they started showing us the menu so we could pick what we wanted to eat! This was the tricky part because everything just screams EAT ME I’M KAWAII at you.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And so I finally arrived at the entrance in all its Pompompurin glory.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The inside is decorated with Purin and his friends everywhereheartIt’s like a diner, but a cute one. The place is all warm and cosy and Purin-yellow everywhere. I don’t think my blog has ever looked so yellow, thanks to all these pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you look around you’re likely to see someone taking a selfiesmileMost of the girls around me were doing that while waiting for their food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My friend and I ordered the taco rice, which has Purin (made of rice) sitting in a cup with his friend Muffin (made of cream cheese) sitting on his mushroom beret. It was a big portion so we shared itsmileAn ear each, a paw each, and so on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dessert was this happy parfait! Naturally, Purin is the pudding. The beret is a chocolate biscuit, and the rest of the parfait has ice cream, whipped cream and juicy mango sliceslove girlAnd below all that there’s still a huge pile of sponge cake sandwiched between layers of cream and syrup. I know it looks alarmingly sweet, but I liked it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After finishing the meal I looked around the shop corner, which had all the standard merchandise from keychains to stationery to little boxes of ridiculously cute bandages.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They were cute! But I didn’t buy anything because I’d already spent my money on lunchgirl

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before you go out, don’t forget to take a picture with the big mascots in the centre of the cafe! The staff (all incredibly kind and adorable in their Pompompurin-themed uniforms) will help you take a picture, when you ask any of them who’s not busy serving foodgirl love

So if you like themed cafes or cute cafes or even better, Pom Pom Purin himself, make sure you visit this place once! It’s on the third level of Cute Cube, a building along the busy Takeshita-dori.

4 Responses to “Pom Pom Purin Cafe in Harajuku”


  1. 1 Mchan May 15, 2015 at 12:21 AM

    I love the parfait,it’s kawaii overdose. Actually I never realized pompompurin was supposed to be a golden retriever ^^

  2. 3 Sydney Lee May 20, 2015 at 9:52 PM

    im CRYING everything is so adorableeee


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

