Sweet Potato Banana Cake with Berry Explosion

_MG_8904

And so the kitchen adventures continue, this time unadulterated by any academic obligations. Yes! My final year in school is overhappy girlThere’s still a long while before the actual graduation, but for now I’m basking in my liberation from studying. I can actually have a bit of time to myself now, so I do things like make cakes. This one here was made this morning!

If the name makes it sound like a mouthful, that’s because it literally is with all the ingredients I stuffed insidegirl oh noIt was meant to be a simple banana cake with fresh strawberries, but then when I took the box of strawberries out of the fridge there was all this…white fuzz on it. Like cotton wool. Except cotton wool is nice and fluffy. This was like its evil twin—disgusting and totally appetite-ruining.

So, no more strawberriesbroken heart

But I found a surprise bag of frozen berries, and I unloaded that into the bowl instead because I didn’t want to waste all that batter I’d already made. And then because I was still disappointed by the sudden loss of strawberries I decided to decorate it a bit more by colouring it with sweet potato and cherry juice.

_MG_8925

I’d been fantasising this really girly pastel pink cake, but somehow it ended up a shocking violet instead. Clearly it’s chosen its path.

After everything was done, I got a cake that was nice and chewy with a blend of sweet flavours from all the bananas, berries and sweet potatokirakiraThe loss of strawberries turned out to be a good thing after all since I got to play around with all those different ingredients.

Lesson of the day: Unexpected trouble can still lead to unexpected fruitfulness! And also sweet potato really stains.

Have a good weekend!

8 Responses to “Sweet Potato Banana Cake with Berry Explosion”


  1. 1 Shiori March 5, 2015 at 11:13 PM

    I love the look of this cake, the purple is so pretty! It looks delicious🙂

  2. 3 there13 March 5, 2015 at 11:15 PM

    Looks delicious! And I love your drawings🙂

  3. 5 fluffybunnydesu March 6, 2015 at 12:42 PM

    Tales of the unexpected!Quite simply sensational! A delightful read〜indeed thank you for sharing!

  4. 7 Mayoodle March 8, 2015 at 8:42 PM

    Ah I’ve missed reading your blog!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

