Year End Wrap-up!

_MG_1959

Hello! How’s the year ending for you? I got to spend time with my family over Christmas—just what I wanted!—and have been counting down to the end of 2014 since then. I’ve also been doing lots of baking, so the bulk of my gifts to friends and family is in he form of cakes and cookies (see below).

_MG_1946

I even attempted some form of a Christmas cake by slathering white frosting (for snow) over my standard pound cake and placing strawberry santos and a gingerbread man in one happy festive village on top. Unfortunately I forgot about the whole hot-from-the-oven thing and my snow melted and the little santas (mistakenly made with frozen strawberries) started bleeding juice everywhere. But at least I got a photo before it all went to shambleshurhurAnd it did taste good, once you got past the mangled decorations.

_MG_1924

Okay! Anyway! Moving on from faulty festive cakes.

I was reading the Christmas cards and notes I got over the holiday, and they made me feel inexplicably warm and fuzzy. I’m just sitting here in a little bubble of bliss thinking about the people I’m so blessed to havegirlThanks to them, at the end of the year whatever bad moments there were in the past 12 months don’t matter so much.

It seems to be the peak period for reflections and resolutions now. I like looking back at the year and everything that happened. Of course I can’t remember all of it; the moments that stand out to me the most are probably the ones that I can remember without checking though my blog archive.

_MG_1981

Internship

The biggest part of this year was my internship! I spent six months as a newspaper journalist. I blogged about my experience herekirakira

_MG_1972

Meeting people

Throughout the year I also met lots of new people—acquaintances in school, colleagues, interesting interviewees at work, dancers from Japan—and gained a few surprisingly close friendshipsheartTo these new friends, I’m so glad I met you. I’m still as shy as ever, and I am doubly grateful when I click with people.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

UK Trip

As soon as my internship ended, I spent ten fabulous days in EnglandhappyThe trip took me from London to Manchester to Leeds to Oxford. It was my first time being in the UK, and my first time going on a school trip.. Read the blog posts starting from this one here!

_MG_1971

Fashion

Even more then last year, I’ve been regularly recording the outfits that I wear. I used to just do simple snaps in the mirror with my phone, but took it up a notch when I started working. It made me think about changing my style to fit in with the grown up world better, and I began to use my camera to take pictures of my outfit every single morning. Even after going back to school I still do it almost everyday because I love trying different styles and combinations of my clothessmile

Coordinates

These are some of my favourites! This is the year I started wearing skirts so much haha. It’s literally a personal record; before I’d only ever wear skirts and dresses once in a few months. It’s certainly an evolution of my feminine sense.

food

Food Photography (the iPhone kind)

Similarly to my outfit coordinates, I became even crazier about my food photos. 2014 saw me taking pictures of almost anything edible I got my hands on.

divider

And that wraps up my last blog post of the yearhappyThank you for reading! I hope you have a very happy new year and I’ll be back in 2015 (much sooner than it sounds).

0 Responses to “Year End Wrap-up!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

