UK Trip: London (Part Three)

The UK posts are coming to an end. This is the last one!

There are lots of photos this time too, but most of them were taken on the last day. The second last day was pretty uneventful—we went for a talk at the Westfield mall and had shopping time after, so that took up most of the time and we didn’t do much beside that.

I did however, have the best pasta I’d ever tastedhehe rabbit

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was a creamy tagliatelle with mussels (or more like mussels with a side of pasta, there were so many). It was the daily special at a restaurant called The Bull, which is just about one of my favourite places I ate at.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The whole place had this quirky, homey atmosphere and I loved being there; the bad part is that we only had twenty minutes to eat. (Why were we always in a rush?!) I really wished I could have enjoyed the food and setting for a much longer time, but I was happy enough with the quick meal I had there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Funnily enough, on our last night in Britain we were all brought to an Asian restaurant for dinner. It was a bit of an anti-climax, but I suppose also a novelty to eat the same food we have at home in a foreign country.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had my last breakfast the next morning:')The plate had all my favourites—croissant with raspberry jam, blueberry muffin, scrambled eggs, and muesli (of course). Now that I’m back home I miss that big breakfast I had every day there!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We set off for East London where we visited the Old Spitalfields Market, a covered vintage marketplace filled with all sorts of old treasures from books to vinyls to clothes to the most retro cameras ever. The market itself dates back from the Victorian era; it was amazing to see how the place thrived on the soul and character of the past.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a visual feast everywhere. There were so many unusual, attractive knick-knacks crowding every corner that we had no problem going round and round and not getting bored.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I came across all these old books! I love books, and seeing so many of these gems everywhere was exciting. The Winnie the Pooh volumes were especially tempting, but after hovering over them for a while I didn’t get any. Now I don’t actually know why I just walked away from them…I should have gotten onecryBut I did get a little Beatrix Potter book, which isn’t that old, but still an adorable pocket-sized original edition.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even the people there fit the retro atmosphere perfectly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my favourite spots in the market was definitely the pastry stall. It was the first stall we saw when we entered, and I zeroed in on it immediately. Be still my beating heartloveI’d never seen a more perfect set up of baked goods. (We really don’t have these here)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It took me a good half an hour (I pondered while wandering the rest of the market) to decide on which of these doughy treasures I was going to take 10,000 pictures of and eat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually I went with this Belgian bun! It was the first one that caught my eye because of all the white icing and bright red cherry on top. This was so huge I struggled to finish it, but it was worth every sticky bite. I did get a lot of icing on my fingers while turning it this way and that for pictures. And then some more on my chin when I took a strategically placed bite for a half-eaten bun picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bread bliss. It was almost the size of my face! Or maybe it was. Ate it too fast to tell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apart from the pastry, the other half of my lunch was a crepehappy girlOne of my goals throughout the entire trip was to eat a nutella crepe and I kept passing by stall after stall without ever getting any, so I was happy to finally eat one here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The very last stop was Trafalgar Square, which was so classically London that it felt like I’d landed in a tourist guidebook. It was a sweet and satisfying end to the whole trip, seeing all the iconic landmarks like the National Gallery and the fountains and all the statues.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The National Gallery was the most beautiful museum I’d ever seen. I’m not exaggerating either, because I really haven’t been in that many in my lifediet nekoThe British Museum had lots of spectacular, special things inside, but the decor and aura of the National Gallery was unlike any other place.

The whole atmosphere was hushed and almost reverent in a two hundred-year-old gallery—you could practically smell the appreciation all around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not knowledgeable in art at all, but I did get excited seeing the famous Monet and van Gogh paintings up closenekoWhen I was little I read a lot of illustrated biographies of them in children’s magazines like Discovery Box, so their art works particularly stood out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In true English fashion, the rainy weather came to see us off in all its cloudy gloom. It rained all the way till we reached the airport, and added a little melodrama to our departure from London.

I’ve finally come to the end of my posts on my trip to England; it’s taken me ages to blog about all ten days, but it was incredibly fun looking through and editing all the photos because they brought back so many memories. It’s extra special since this was my first school tripgirlIt could only have been this fun because I was surrounded by friends the entire time.

And also, I’ve ticked off my dream of visiting England. Till the next time I go there again! (Pret A Manger, I’m coming for your sandwiches again)

Thank you for reading!

Divider

4 Responses to “UK Trip: London (Part Three)”


  1. 1 fluffybunnydesu November 20, 2014 at 7:38 AM

    Vibrantly and colourfully depicted both articulately and photographically〜very exciting Adventure update!

    So many wonderful and happy memories you must cherish!

    Thank you kindly for sharing, always a joy to read. Best regards!

  2. 3 Emma November 21, 2014 at 9:28 PM

    Hi! I happened across your blog from Hello Online. I was just wondering what you use to edit your photos? your photos look so cute!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

