UK Trip: London (Part One)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After several days of being a nomadic tribe, we finally settled down in London! It was a lot more buzzing than the cities we were previously in, and there were tons of people and activities crowding the streets.

By the time we reached London it was already evening so everyone scattered for dinner around our hotel, which was in Wembley Park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few of my friends and I went to a fifties-style diner called Frankie & Benny’s, and I had hot baked wraps stuffed with avocado and red pepper. This was the exact moment I fell in love with wraps—I’d never really eaten them before at home but after this I found myself wanting them again and againneko

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It also came along with chunky coleslaw and the hugest baked potato on the side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Skipping straight to breakfast the next daynekoThis hotel also had a little morning buffet, so everyday I liked to pile my favourites onto my plate. There always had to be muesli, and I’d rotate around the muffins and croissants and scrambled eggs. It was a luxury to see so many different kinds of breakfast foodkira

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first day in London was specially for sightseeing! We had a tour guide bring us around the famous landmarks of the city, like Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park (plus countless red telephone boxes).

London Collage 1

Seeing all these places that are always in movies and on the Internet was a bit surreal, like living inside Google Images. Plus, I thought that spot on the right was perfect because you can get two big British icons squeezed into one picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We took a walk through Hyde Park too, and met all these wonderful wildlife who were game enough for lots of photos (although the squirrel was a tad impatient).

And then we found a nice, spacious part with lots of lawn chairs for us to sit down and do nothing but appreciate the fresh air and nature around us.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(We did this for about two minutes to take a photo)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lunch break—there wasn’t a lot of time so a group of us got sandwiches and fish and chips from a small food stall. We ensconced ourselves in a in a corner and ate in a circle in front of the wall. I tried a panini with cheese and peppers; toasty sandwiches are perfect for cold weather! I wanted the ciabatta but they were all out, so I ended up with this one. It was still tasty, though it was a bit huge for me to finish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was an ice cream van, so I bought one! Vanilla soft cream in a chocolate-dipped oyster shell, and a flake sandwiched in between. Yumlove girl

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Tower of London was surrounded by a spectacular sea of poppies. There were probably as many people as there were poppies—it took ages getting jostled by everyone before I could get a good view.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Tower of London was the most interesting attraction I visited in the UK, so it was a great pity that there was too little time to cover the entire grounds. I wanted to see the Crown Jewels, but the queue was so long it’d probably take a day and a half before I got my glimpse. We settled for the White Tower instead, and had a look around the old royal armouries. After that I really wanted to explore at least another tower, but there wasn’t enough time to waitcryI did see the ravens though, and the soldiers marching around!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m sorry I’m blocking the view of the Tower Bridge…but there’re already tons of good pictures on Google, I need the photographic evidence that I was therehurhur

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A picture of the London Eye is mandatory even if you don’t actually sit on it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also met the cutest dogs!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And then for dinner I had wraps againhappyThis time they were stuffed with fish fingers and accompanied by a tiny salad on the side. I had them in another pub in Piccadilly Circus. We were in the Chinatown area so some of the teachers and students went to eat good old Chinese food, but my friends and I were still adamant about eating British so we went to a cosy pub instead.

London Collage 3

So that was the first proper day in London! After going to landmark after landmark I felt like I’d unlocked a slew of tourist achievements in a combo. It was amazing to finally see (part of) London for realsmile

2 Responses to “UK Trip: London (Part One)”


  1. 1 racheltrieslife November 4, 2014 at 10:22 PM

    Looks like you’re already having a great time here in London, if you want any recommendations of things not to miss I have a long list!

    http://www.racheltrieslife.com

    • 2 Miu November 8, 2014 at 11:35 AM

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve already left London, but I’ll be sure to check out your recommendations till the next time I go again 😀


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

