UK Trip: Leeds

Good morning!

I ended up posting only on a Tuesday because the last two nights I was up working on school things. New school semester blues, something like that.

After Manchester, the next stop on our trip was Leeds!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If I have to describe UK with one word only, it would be charming. It’s not just an easy description for convenience’s sake either; there’s a real beauty in each different city that leaves different impressions in me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favourite part of Leeds was walking around in town! I loved this cosy place with its pretty streets sprawling across the city, and an easygoing vibe that made me feel right at home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had free time to find our lunch, and we weren’t picky about it so decided to just wander around and see what we could find. One of my favourite parts about the trip was exploring different places to eat. You didn’t have to think hard about it because everything was unfamiliar and fascinating and you just wanted to try something newhappy girl(Though obviously I passed on Asian food)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually we found this snug alley with lots of flowers and a little pub tucked inside, and ventured in (out of both curiosity and concern for our rapidly disappearing time). It was called The Ship, and was a warm, cheery pub with a very nice owner who went about chatting here and there about the food and calling us loves. I would move in if I could.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had veggie pie with peas and chips on the sidegirlBefore that I had a good browse; I liked looking at all the classic English pub food that I’d always read about in my books.

After lunch we headed to the University of Leeds for a tour! The place was so gorgeous I’m just going to let the pictures do the talking. Or serenading, like cherubs playing seraphic music on a cloud above while you walk and wonder how a university can look like a postcard from every possible angle.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We got to meet the students there who spoke to us about life at Leeds, which was great but just made me really wistful. I think I’m just too impressed because my school doesn’t have a palatial campus with grand buildings or cobbled streets or a supermarket.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dinner in Leeds was the yummiest risotto at Bella ItaliaheartWe sat there for a good hour or so in the middle of the chatty dinner atmosphere, and also met a waitress with the prettiest pastel purple hair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next morning we got up early to get ready for the day’s programme, and snuck in some photo time in the alleyway at the back of our hotel. After that it was time for a proper city tour of Leeds! The walking trail started at Leeds University, and brought us around the streets and buildings until we ended up at the Leeds Kirkgate Market.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is nothing easier to win me over than a quaint market packed with all sorts of colours and interesting smells. There’s so much character in every corner I’d need the whole morning to drift from stall to stall. (Not just being an overly impressed tourist either, I have a huge love for places like these)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The covered market had lots of food stalls which I adored, but didn’t get to eat because there wasn’t much time to buy anything. A pity, because I really liked the look of the sweets and crepes and snacks I passedneko

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look at this massive golden mountain of cashew nutslove rabbitI am a big fan of cashews and would eat them by the dozens if it were healthy to do so.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That was our last stop at Leeds! We said goodbye to this sweet city and boarded the bus to our next destination—Oxford bound for the next few hourskira kira

Again there was only a quick stop for lunch, so I got a sandwich from Waitrose. I’d never get sick of sandwiches easily; I love eating bread, and it’s even better in UK when the sandwiches come in such fun and attractive packaginglove girlTake me shopping at Sainsbury’s or Tesco anytime!

3 Responses to “UK Trip: Leeds”


  1. 1 fluffybunnydesu October 22, 2014 at 12:08 AM

    Thank you for sharing another truly fascinating insight of your UK adventures. Makes for a very delightful read. Greatly appreciated indeed! Best wishes.

  2. 2 charlottewetherhill November 23, 2014 at 2:45 AM

    I’m glad you enjoyed my hometown! (*^▽^)/ This is such a lovely blog post to read!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

