UK Trip: Manchester

Hello!

I didn’t manage to post last week at all—sorry if Slice of Apple Cake went a bit stale. I disappeared because I was away in the UK! I’ve just come back from a school trip, and I had a really good ten days eating good food and pounding down the streets of England in the chilly weather.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The route was like this: London Heathrow Airport → Manchester → Leeds → Oxford → London. We spent a day each in the first three cities, and then the remaining six days in London.

The first blog post will be about Manchester!

Our flight left at about 1am, so I was sleepy and completely buzzing at the same time. And then on the plane they served us dinner at two in the morning, which made it even weirder. But it was a good suppergoodI didn’t sleep much during the 12-hour flight, so I watched a lot of movies instead (at least I saved some good money on cinema tickets).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As soon as we landed in Heathrow we had to catch a train to Manchester! Since it was too much of a hurry for a proper lunch, I got an almond croissant from a pastry shop at the station. It tasted like a dreamlove rabbit

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You need to see the soft doughy inside so be my guest and have another picture. I would really much rather let you eat the real thing but it’s 7,000 miles away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can’t remember the last time I ate a croissant (that wasn’t out of a plastic box on the shelf either); this was fresh and flaky and pillowy soft and completely deserved the honour of being my first gastronomic affair in the UK.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After spending three hours on the train—we played games and saw lots of cows and sheep—we arrived in Manchester! The sky had gone a bit gloomy, but at least it didn’t rain (yet). The first stop was Old Trafford Stadiumkirakira

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not a Manchester United fan or even much of a soccer follower, but my dad is a huge fan so there must at least be a trace of it in my blood or something because I felt oddly excited when I went in (and not just because I visited the players’ dressing room).

I was genuinely interested in the trivia and history of the club, so I had a nice stroll in the museum and bought my dad a Manchester United mug with his name on it later on in the gift shopneko

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a good tour of Manchester United’s home stadium!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that was dinner; the first day’s meal was provided for us so all fifty-odd students packed into Nando’s and ate chicken and chips. I’m not much of a chicken eater, but the chips were really good.

The next morning we were still in Manchester!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Breakfast was provided by the hotel we stayed in, and it was a little buffet-style English breakfast menu. It was an indulgence to get to eat so much in the morninglove girlGranola is one of my favourites so I had it almost every day, sometimes with scrambled eggs or a croissant and jam. Yum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We went to the National Media Museum, where we looked at retro arcade games and played around with the film equipment on exhibition (being media nerds students and all).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While waiting at the gift shop I saw this shelf full of sweetssmileI always think traditional English sweets are adorable, so I bought quite a bit during this trip. The packaging alone is enough to make me sweep them off the shelf; they make great gifts.

That was the end of our Manchester stay! Apart from the Old Trafford and museum visit, we didn’t really do much (Nando’s is hardly a tourist attraction) and the city was kind of sleepy when I was there, but still nice and peaceful. The houses and streets were pretty, and that alone’s enough for mesmile

Next stop: Leeds!

Manchester Snapshots

6 Responses to “UK Trip: Manchester”


  1. 1 fluffybunnydesu October 13, 2014 at 12:37 AM

    Hello! Wow ~ This is surely a momentous occasion in your Life!

    I am an avid Reader of your truly fascinating Blog and this particular entry resonates well with me. I wondered if it is ok to ask a couple of questions ?

    I would be most grateful of your obliging a response. I’ve taken the liberty of posting them ahead of your approval; I hope this is acceptable.

    Thank you sincerely in advance!

    * First off, how did you cope with the time differences ? Losing 7hrs SGT on top of a 12hr Flight is a lot to cope with !

    * Initially, did you feel a sense of ‘culture shock’ ? How did you adapt to any changes from familiarity ?

    * Likewise, did it take long to adjust and feel comfortable in your surroundings ? Was there anything in particular that stood out or you perhaps felt too impertinent to question ?

    * Did it seem strange changing currency ? I imagine School Maths became ever more important !

    * Although you were in good company, did you feel scared or homesick at any point ?

    * As a teenager; did being away from Home make you feel a little grownup/adult-like and independent? Was it a ‘liberating experience’ ?

    * Did you maintain normal Family bedtime curfews or slightly rebel and stay up a little later ? Your secret is safe !

    * You seem a very ambitious and motivated Girl, do you feel this Trip has helped your self-confidence, giving scope to your Big Ideas of the World and what you’d like to do when you grow up ?

    * As well, your ‘Internship Entry’ mentions a strong passion for Journalism. Do you envision a successful career that would give rise to travelling around the World in a Jetsetter Lifestyle ? Could you hint at whether your career would include your Dancing, Culinary, Photography, Editorial and Fashion Modelling Talents ?

    * An easy one; Did you miss your own Bed ?

    * As the title of your Blog and many Entries suggest; you are a Connoisseur of Food. What were your thoughts regarding English Foods ? Did you have/they met your expectations ? Are there any particular cravings now and what would satisfy that desire ?

    * From Foods to Culture, did you try and embrace as much of the ‘quintessential’ British as possible ?

    * And of course Shopping ! Did you ‘rush’ the shops for souvenirs, clothing or have a list of items you endeavoured to purchase ? Please do share !

    * Did you pick up any local vernacular? (colloquial expressions) better still, find yourself adopting a suave British accent ?

    * Were there times when you went to habitually or instinctively do something but then was prompted by a differencing ?

    * So far reading, has England met your expectations, as well did you feel welcomed ! Were there any particular aspects of the trip that really surprised you ? Would you care to perhaps enlighten ?

    * How would you rate this blessed opportunity to visit another Country through Schooling ? Naturally it must be an overwhelming experience to treasure ! Likewise Educational !

    * Now back Home; What would your advice be to others perhaps considering a visit to the UK ? As well, what would you have done differently if another chance visit presented itself ?

    Sorry for so many questions, though you’ve had an opportunity that presents so much intrigue !

    I anticipate your updates and enjoy reading them with much delight. So thank you indeed! Best Regards.

    • 2 Miu October 13, 2014 at 2:21 PM

      Thank you for your questions!

      * First off, how did you cope with the time differences ? Losing 7hrs SGT on top of a 12hr Flight is a lot to cope with !
      I slept a lot on the plane(^_^)

      * Initially, did you feel a sense of ‘culture shock’ ? How did you adapt to any changes from familiarity ?
      Since I’ve had a lot of Western influences since childhood, like all the books I read and movies I watched, there wasn’t much of a culture shock. But there were differences that I wasn’t used to, like shops closing early in the evening.

      * Likewise, did it take long to adjust and feel comfortable in your surroundings ? Was there anything in particular that stood out or you perhaps felt too impertinent to question ?
      I didn’t take too long to adjust, and the cities I visited were lovely and made me feel comfortable.

      * Did it seem strange changing currency ? I imagine School Maths became ever more important !
      I’ve changed currency for other trips so it wasn’t strange; I just made sure to watch out for the currency rates so I could get the best deal(^_^)

      * Although you were in good company, did you feel scared or homesick at any point ?
      No I didn’t, but I was still cautious about safety and pickpockets.

      * As a teenager; did being away from Home make you feel a little grownup/adult-like and independent? Was it a ‘liberating experience’ ?
      There was some feeling of independence from travelling without my family!

      * Did you maintain normal Family bedtime curfews or slightly rebel and stay up a little later ? Your secret is safe !
      I don’t have curfews if you mean sleeping time, so I just went to bed when I felt sleepy. I didn’t stay up that late though (* ・ω・)

      * You seem a very ambitious and motivated Girl, do you feel this Trip has helped your self-confidence, giving scope to your Big Ideas of the World and what you’d like to do when you grow up ?
      Of course, it made me think a lot more about what I wanted to do especially since I visited many different places that I’d never seen or thought about.

      * As well, your ‘Internship Entry’ mentions a strong passion for Journalism. Do you envision a successful career that would give rise to travelling around the World in a Jetsetter Lifestyle ? Could you hint at whether your career would include your Dancing, Culinary, Photography, Editorial and Fashion Modelling Talents ?
      I’m not actually keen on a jet-setting lifestyle and travelling everywhere, but as long as I’m doing something I love then I’m happy!

      * An easy one; Did you miss your own Bed ?
      Yes, although the hotel beds were still nice to sleep in.

      * As the title of your Blog and many Entries suggest; you are a Connoisseur of Food. What were your thoughts regarding English Foods ? Did you have/they met your expectations ? Are there any particular cravings now and what would satisfy that desire ?
      I love English food (^o^) I can’t choose a particular favourite because everything I ate was delicious, but breakfast was very memorable.

      * From Foods to Culture, did you try and embrace as much of the ‘quintessential’ British as possible ?
      Being in England, I made sure I tried to(^ω^)I ate as much British food as possible, and liked speaking to the people there.

      * And of course Shopping ! Did you ‘rush’ the shops for souvenirs, clothing or have a list of items you endeavoured to purchase ? Please do share !
      We were given time for shopping, so I did my best to buy lots of souvenirs! I ended up buying more souvenirs for my friends and family, so I tried to look for things for myself towards the end of the trip as well. I did bring lots of nice things home!

      * Did you pick up any local vernacular? (colloquial expressions) better still, find yourself adopting a suave British accent ?
      Growing up many of the books I read were by British authors, so I was familiar with quite some British expressions. But I didn’t pick up any accent, I don’t think 10 days would be enough haha.

      * Were there times when you went to habitually or instinctively do something but then was prompted by a differencing ?
      I don’t think so.

      * So far reading, has England met your expectations, as well did you feel welcomed ! Were there any particular aspects of the trip that really surprised you ? Would you care to perhaps enlighten ?
      Yes, I felt very happy to finally visit England (^_^) I suppose I was just surprised by the shops closing so early, haha.

      * How would you rate this blessed opportunity to visit another Country through Schooling ? Naturally it must be an overwhelming experience to treasure ! Likewise Educational !
      I’d give it an 8/10, it was really very fun and I had a good time with my friends ( ˘ω˘ )

      * Now back Home; What would your advice be to others perhaps considering a visit to the UK ? As well, what would you have done differently if another chance visit presented itself ?
      My advice is to just have fun and eat and do as many cultural things as possible. If I could’ve done it differently, I would’ve bought what I really wanted without thinking too much about it because there’s only one chance.

  2. 3 fluffybunnydesu October 13, 2014 at 8:40 PM

    Wow ! Thank you for replying to my questions and so quickly too !

    Your responses are truly valued, very educational, highly constructive and informative !

    It really seems as though this experience has been hospitable and made a positive impression on your Life.

    Would you be kind enough to answer just a few more questions ?

    I know you like literature and reading John Green’s books. Obviously many books are adapted to the Big Screen featuring British celebrities.

    As well, I recall in your ‘Red carpet; Spiderman 2 – Press Conference’ article, that you had an amazing opportunity to ‘rub shoulders’ with very famous Hollywood celebrities; an experience that seems almost surreal !

    ‘Andrew Garfield’ is a British actor that featured in this Blockbuster movie and likewise there are other countless famous British talents. My questions;

    * Did you anticipate / or actually meet any famous British people ? As well, visit any notable locations in England ?

    It’s mentioned in previous articles that as a School Student you were doing an Internship in Journalism. It is evident that this is a skill set you have embraced and evolved with learning that clearly has transpired in your Blog over the course of this time; This chapter in your Life has concluded fittingly with this delightful School Trip !

    * What do you *personally* feel that you’ve gained from this 6 month course and how will it serve you in the future ?

    * Do you feel all the long working hours, shifts and overtime has been rewarding. What does the value of working mean to you, as well, have you achieved what you wanted in terms of goals ?

    * What would your advice be to your Readers perhaps in the same position you were; may be needing encouragement and any assurance ?

    Your Blog is very diversified with enchanting articles that include your own personal graphical illustrations; adding uniqueness of character. Many entries contain Fashion Journalism, all of which are wonderful ways of enthusiastically incorporating flair and expressionism !

    Your keen sense of style direction clearly helps define your personality and mood; just curiously, what influenced your garments for the UK Trip and where does your inspiration and creative insight come from ?

    I am always intrigued to know more about an Author of engaging and insightful publications; I noticed you also have an ASK.FM account to invite questions from your Readers; this is good news and a great opportunity that I will endeavour to pursue in due course; so thank you !

    Once again, sincerely your time and consideration is greatly appreciated. I await with much anticipation your follow up articles and will undoubtedly have more questions to ask !! Best regard !

  3. 4 Arielle December 31, 2014 at 9:36 PM

    I am in love with your blog! Your posts are always so beautiful and inspiring🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you a couple of weeks ago❤ can't wait to read more!


  1. 1 Year End Wrap-up! | Slice of Apple Cake Trackback on December 31, 2014 at 6:53 PM

Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

