EOY 2014 ☆

Hello!

I’m back, but I’m not back at the same time. My laptop broke, so while it’s getting patched up by the trusty repair people (I know nothing of its ailments except that it’s dead) I’m using the family computer. Which means that I haven’t been able to edit my photos on Photoshop—important event photos, no less. But no matter; I’ll just post the pictures from my phone!

Last weekend was the EOY event, and this year it was spread out over two days. The event is typically a festival of stage performances, cosplay and other sub-culture fun, and this is the third year that I performed. It’s becoming an annual thing, I should think. But this year’s event was the first time I got involved with the event team!

It’s a long story (or at least it would be if I told it)—at every EOY festival there’re usually a guest or two from Japan, and this time round it was Nico Nico Douga dancers Penta and Marice. This is the part where I restrain myself from unnecessary emotional display, because they’re two of my favourite dancers on the Internet. Penta is even my number one favourite (she ties with @Azuki), so having them come down was a big deal.

But there was another bigger deal!

I went for a group dance rehearsal with them, and after that got to accompany them throughout the two-day event.

Photo 9-8-14 11 54 15 pmPhoto 9-8-14 11 51 50 pmPhoto 10-8-14 12 05 51 am

I’m gratefulcry

Talking to them was easier than I thought because they were so friendly. We spoke in Japanese, so it was an extra fun conversational practice for me too. During their post-performance autograph sessions I helped out at their booth—that is, I manned the coin boxes and fanned them in the heat. The joys of fanning cute Japanese girls on either side of you…neko

Photo 10-8-14 4 19 44 pm

I took polaroid pictures with them! One of the three of us on the first day, and then on the second day I took some with each of them again. Marice was especially sweet about it because there’d been such long queues at the booth that I didn’t get the chance to take pictures with her, so at the end of the day I asked her about it and she took my hand and brought us to a nice spot further away from the booth to take one before the sun went down.

Why do you do this to my heartneko

Photo 10-8-14 4 15 12 pm

On the last night of the event when it was all over, we were all sitting in the room waiting for dinner. It was air-conditioned, everyone was lolling around, and pizza was coming. Couldn’t have been a more perfect way to end the long weekend. I got Penta and Marice to sign my passes, so we spent some time doing autographs! Penta even drew me outnekoAnd it only took all of five minutes.

That night was probably the best of all, because that’s when we talked the most about all sorts of things.

Photo 10-8-14 4 15 57 pmPhoto 10-8-14 12 43 54 am

That’s Penta’s T-shirt on the left that I got from the goods table! I made sure to buy it on the first day when it opened, because I was certain the S size would sell out fast (and it did). The design is an original art drawn by her!

The smorgasbord on the right is the dinner we ate on one of the nights. It was at a popular bak kut teh (pork bone tea soup) stall, with rice and lots of different dishes for everyone to share. Since it was a large group of us there was lots of food. During the event days I got to have a lot of good foodneko

Photo 10-8-14 2 24 25 pmPhoto 10-8-14 1 47 33 pm

One of the more interesting ones was the chocolate xiao long bao! The steamed dumpling had chocolate and red bean paste inside, which was the cutest change from the usual soup dumplings. Penta and Marice were fairly fascinated by this, and so was Ineko

It’s a pity I can’t put more pictures up, but these are some of my favourites. The highlight of the whole event was really meeting Penta and Marice, and being given the chance to be close to them. By the way, did you know they’re about a hundred times more adorable in person? I do now. I don’t know when it’ll happen, but I want to meet them again one day!

There’s a video of the group dance rehearsal we did last Thursday for the song Viva Happydown

We did this performance on Saturday! Penta and Marice were doing their set, and the rest of us just scuttled on stage halfway during the song. I really liked dancing up there with everyone. The other performance I did was a solo of Suki Yuki Maji Magic, which was choreographed by Penta herself. It was a bit funny doing a winter song in the middle of the summer, but the performance itself was the greatest fun. I hope I’ll find a video of that floating around sometime soon, but for now I’m having fun looking at all the pictures from last weekend.

I’m thankful for all of it!

4 Responses to “EOY 2014 ☆”


  1. 1 Paul August 11, 2014 at 12:43 AM

    A truly memorable Event of Master-class performances followed with intense interest and excitement!

    Absolutely sensational! I feel particularly honoured and privileged to have your shared insight.

    Thank you very much indeed. A joyous occasion complemented by a much anticipated Follow-up report.

    As always, a delightful read. Best regards. Viva Happy !!

  2. 2 myclosetisfull August 11, 2014 at 10:42 PM

    This was super fun to read about! Congrats on meeting some of your idols! I can’t imagine how exciting that was. Are you the one in the pink sweater? Good job on dancing!

  3. 4 Christian Louboutin Heels October 3, 2014 at 8:28 AM

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your
    site and detailed information you offer.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Great read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

