Nineteen

Hello!

(Almost) self-explanatory title. On Monday I turned nineteen! This is officially my last year as a teenager, which is a fact that I kept harping about because it was the only news peg I could think of for this age. Sixteen is cool (that whole sweet sixteen affair), seventeen is cool (you’re the same age as that magazine title!), eighteen is cool (just because).

I’m not really sure what being nineteen is about, except that it’s that last year before hitting the twenties. Or, as my friend pointed out, the start of the third decade of our lives. Which is a total revelation, because I never thought of it that way.

But whatever age I became…I still received lots of kindness from the people around me! Grateful grateful grateful. Really.

Flowers and Alpaca

My birthday was on a Monday this year and work didn’t start off well, but all the love I got saved my day. There isn’t anything more encouraging than knowing the people that matter to me are thinking about me too. And when they go out of their way to do something special for me, it just makes me gush on the insidecry

Card Skirt

And it doesn’t even have to be a special occasion. My friends are great like that all the timeheartHaving them is the hugest reassurance, especially when I’m in the middle of all this woe (i.e. work). I’m thankful for new-ish friends too, like the fellow interns that share my corporate life and even give me cupcakes on my birthday. If I were alone in the office the world around me might just collapse as I know it because I’m still such a wallflower, and a clumsy one at that.

Stuffies

Work has not been so kind to me these past few days; there were all these problems that came down on me like a ton of bricks and even if I’ve turned a year older I’m still no better at dealing with stress like a level-headed sub-adult (my teenage status is expiring). But I get that it’s all part of growing up and facing the real world and all that. I guess I have even less of an excuse now, since I’ve already passed the 19-year-old markneko

What’s that in the sky? Oh, expectations.

But all that anxiety and heebie-jeebies aside, I know I’m not alone in this and that’s enough to keep me goinggirl

Gift Basket

1 Response to “Nineteen”


  1. 1 Paul June 22, 2014 at 1:22 AM

    ☆*・゜゚・\( ˆoˆ)/Friendship\(ˆoˆ )/ ・゜゚・*☆


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

