Almost a bento

hello

Recently I’ve been collecting bento making toolsnekoI’ve always liked bento because of how packed and colourful the lunch boxes are, but I’ve never really tried making them. So I’m starting now ☆

There was some sort of bento fair at the department store, and there were so many cute tools that I took forever to decide. In the end I got three thingsrabbit

tamagoyaki

A mold for making tamagoyaki, which is pretty useful since I don’t have those rectangular pan things.

photo

A panda sandwich maker called ShokupandapandaIt’s supposed to be a pun on shokupan, which is that fluffy white bread you get in Japan. I don’t have any shokupan, so my pandas didn’t turn out particularly desirable because of the flaky loaf I used.

rilakkuma

And a Rilakkuma rice ball setrilakkumaI like this one a lot because I had first-time success with it unlike the panda maker and my unfortunate sandwich.

I never thought I’d ever shop voluntarily at the kitchen department, but there’s a first time for everything. And it’s all cute characters and stuff, so it still makes senseneko

Anyway, I tried all the tools I got! Except the tamagoyaki mold, I’m still clueless about that one.

When I made the panda sandwiches I had this fancy idea to turn it into a video like the ones RRcherrypie makes, but it seems like my pandas turned it into a joke instead. And I still uploaded ithurhur

Without normal white bread, I only had my rough (and lumpy) wholemeal bread to use so they came out kind of weird. I tried asking my mom for lighter-coloured bread but she wouldn’t get any because the brown stuff is healthier.

However, howeverkirakira

My friend brought me a few pieces of white bread from her home so I made them again!

パンダ

This time I succeededalpaca

And then there’re my little rice Rilakkumas…

photo (2)

They turned out as the box said they wouldstunned

They were so cute I couldn’t bear to eat them. (ha, ha, ha, pun)

I wouldn’t mind taking a whole bunch of these to school in a lunchbox to eat, but I have no idea how much time I’d need to make so many. Three alone took me long enoughwavingBut it’s only my first time, so I’ll try making them again.

It’s surprisingly funsmile

Well then—

IMG_7580

divider

4 Responses to “Almost a bento”


  1. 1 dizzy March 25, 2013 at 8:40 AM

    Awww so cute! I always loved the idea of bento too, but unfortunately where I live I don’t find japanese things easily and it’s a pain to buy them online because of customs here (they’re awful orz)
    The rice Rilakkumas are so cute (*´エ`*) I’d also feel bad about eating them xD

    • 2 Miu March 25, 2013 at 9:04 AM

      Ahh that’s a pity(´・△・`)
      I hope you do find some one day!

      I had a hard time eating the Rilakkumas because I just wanted to stare at them longer 😛

  2. 3 GeorgiaNeko March 29, 2013 at 6:45 AM

    Cute cute cute! Your video made me giggle so much xD
    Do you speak Japanese? 😮 知らなかった…!
    This post is a cuteness overload… I also bought some bento tools when I was in Japan but don’t have the same things! I really want the panda bread tool *^* ♫
    You inspired me to actually try using the things I bought xD


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

