DIY Notebook Cover!

The Japan ☆ series has finally concluded! Back to reality now (´ω`。)

But it isn’t bad at all, I’ve been trying to make good use of my free time ♪

Yesterday, I designed my own notebook cover! My mom and I went to Muji, and bought notebooks with plain covers. They’re perfect for designing your own covers in whatever way you want (●・▽・●)

Blank and ready to scribble on!

There were so many possibilities (*´ー`) It really stretched my creativity ☆ In the end, it took me longer than I expected to come up with a design. I drew lots of inspiration from Japanese illustrations and graphics, figuring out just how to capture that simple and adorable style that was common in all of them.

This is what I came up with ヾ(*・∀・)/

After that I got started ☆ To begin with, I sketched out the design in pencil first.

Since it’s only the rough outline, I don’t draw in small details like facial expressions.

As you can see, my sketches are always really faint ( ´・ ω ・` )

Time for the fun part! Filling it up with all those colours ~

The first bold stroke!

Instead of just using markers, I used colour pencils and gel pens as well. Plus the occasional glitter pen (ノ゚▽゚)ノ☆

It’s slowly coming to life!

If I count up the total time taken, I think it took me more than 2 hours to finish. I’m just really picky when it comes to things like this ( ̄▽ ̄) But in the end, I think it was worth it.

Here’s the scan!

100% hand drawn by me ☆ There might be a tad too much sparkles here and there, it’s because I didn’t want to have too much empty space. Since I’m always a fan of bright colours, I made it as colourful as I could!

Also, yeah, the girl in the apple suit is meant to be me. See the little notebook? (´▽`) I know I’m supposed to be Apple Cake but…I don’t know how to draw myself as an apple cake (´・3・)

8 Responses to “DIY Notebook Cover!”


  1. 1 Maimai February 15, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    It’s so cute ❤

  2. 3 Soyeon April 28, 2012 at 11:35 PM

    You’re so awesome at doodling 😀 I’m going to do something like that with my ugly-cover notebooks ^^ thanks for the inspiration!~

  3. 5 Lulu November 3, 2012 at 7:00 PM

    This is great! Keep drawing! =)

  4. 7 cake glitter February 24, 2013 at 11:31 AM

    I’m extremely inspired together with your writing abilities and also with the layout in your weblog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you customize it yourself? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to look a nice blog like this one today..

  5. 8 Ann Onyomous August 3, 2015 at 6:07 AM

    its so freaking cute!


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

