Painless Japanese

My love of Japan started when I was 9. At some point the Ranma 1/2 anime series started showing on TV, and for some reason I started watching it. Everyday before going to school, I’d eat my mashed potatoes and watch Ranma turn into a girl (´ω`;) They had reruns in the evening, so I could watch the episode all over again. A silly thing is that when the Ranma 1/2 series ended without me knowing and I came home to see Rurouni Kenshin (a favourite series of mine to this day) on TV, I thought a new character had been added.

It seems like my appreciation of Japanese culture started to flourish then ♡ It made me want to know how to speak the language. For the past 8 years, I’ve been picking it up bit by bit ( ・ ▽ ・ ) I never had the time to go for proper lessons, so I don’t have a good foundation ( ̄□ ̄;)

In 2008, I discovered Hello! Project. Thanks to the girls I love I have even more exposure to the language by watching and listening to them. And I find that as you read their blogs and listen to them talk, you end up learning more informal slang than the polite terms ( ̄▽ ̄ 😉

I’m happy that I know enough Japanese now to talk a little to Japanese friends (‐^▽^‐) But I’m still far from being fluent and I struggle with translations, so one day I want to have proper lessons (`・ω・´)

Meanwhile…

Painless Japanese

My mom brought me some booksヽ(´▽`)/ They’re pretty basic stuff, and doesn’t cover the whole language as a whole, but still helpful ☆

The learning style is cute too ↓

Relaxed, simple and friendly(●^皿^●)I’m not a fan of learning devices that are totally serious and formal and makes you feel like IFYOUDON’TMEMORIZEMEYOUCAN’TEATSUSHIEVER and such, so I’ll make sure I take advantage of these and study them diligently.

5 Responses to “Painless Japanese”


  1. 1 MeiWen January 2, 2012 at 9:31 AM

    Hey! Do you want to attend Basic Japanese Lessons?

    There’s a new class[Basic Japanese Level 1 Express] starting soon.
    It’s twice a week.
    i’ll post the info link here. If interested, just take a look =)

  2. 2 MeiWen January 2, 2012 at 9:34 AM

    http://kaigai.tenrikyo.or.jp/singapore/

    forgot to post the link just now =P

    • 3 Apple Cake January 3, 2012 at 3:27 PM

      Thanks for the information, I appreciate it! I’m considering it, but I need to wait until I get my O levels results back and see what school I go to before I can confirm my schedules (‐^▽^‐)

  3. 4 MeiWen January 3, 2012 at 4:26 PM

    Good Luck for your results! =D


Leave a Reply

Welcome ♡

▷ . Cheryl

I'm a university student in Tokyo blogging every weekend about cute food and cute places in Japan٩( ᐛ )و

Read my About Me ☆ to know more.

はじめまして!
大学一年生のシェリルです
毎週日本の可愛い食べ物や場所についてブログ更新していますヽ(´_`) /♪

よろしくお願いします

Youtube
Ameba
Twitter
Askfm

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Counter

wordpress analytics

